Spanish weekend for NetApp - Endura

Team News | 27.02.2014

In the Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia and the Classica Almeria, two completely contrasting races are awaiting Team NetApp - Endura. The 34th Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia takes place on Saturday, from Beniel to Lorca. Along the 190 kilometer route, as well as two small climbs, there are two first category mountains to deal with. One of them is the 1211-m-high Cima Marco Pantani. The finish is also at the end of a climb of some 2 kilometers in length. The riders who are strongest in the mountains will thus fight it out among themselves. Following the good results of recent weeks, from NetApp - Endura's point of view, Tiago Machado and David de la Cruz should have the best chance.

"In the Volta ao Algarve, Tiago improved day by day. With his fifth place in the King of the Mountains stage, he showed that he can just about keep up with the best climbers. Tiago himself was not completely happy with his performance in Portugal so I imagine that he is especially motivated for the race in Murcia. David is also in good form. I believe our guys are capable of achieving the next place on the podium", says Sport Director Christian Pömer confidently.

Sunday's Clasica De Almeria also includes four mountain peaks. The climbs are however considerably shorter here, and after the final mountain prize there are more than 50 kilometers on the flat in which to prepare for the finish. Since he came in third in the Tour of Oman stage, NetApp – Endura sprinter Sam Bennett is one of the favorites, nevertheless Sport Director Christian Pömer dampens overly high expectations: "Sam had a fantastic debut. Even though the Clasica De Almeria suits him, it would be presumptuous to expect the next success from Sam. He is only 23 and has to be carefully developed. In Spain, he will also have to go without most of his lead-out riders, since they are competing in the classics in Belgium."

Website Vuelta Ciclista a Murcia

Website Clasica Almeria

ResultsVuelta Ciclista a Murcia
Valverde, Alejandro
Machado, Tiago
Rebellin, Davide
Mendes, José
Camano Ortuzar, Iker
Rowsell, Erick
Padour, Frantisek
Benedetti, Cesare
Bennett, Sam